Project Tiger in India

Project Tiger is a wildlife conservation venture, launched in India in 1972 to protect Royal Bengal Tiger. The project aims at tiger conservation in particularly formed the tiger reserve that represent various region in all India. It strives to conserve a viable population of tiger in the natural environment.

An estimate of the tiger population in India, placed the figure around 45,000, at the turn of the 19th century. In 1972, it revealed the existence of 1827 tigers only after the first ever all-India tiger census. The project was launched in 1973 from the Dhikala zone of Corbett tiger reserve, and 8 other tiger reserves were created in the country on a 'core-buffer' strategy. These nine tiger reserves were Manas (Assam), Palamau (Bihar), Similipal (Orissa), Corbett (U.P.), Kanha (M.P.), Melghat (Maharashtra), Bandipur (Karnataka), Ranthambhore (Rajasthan) and Sunderbans (West Bengal), established in different states of India that covered an area of about 13, core areas of each tiger reserve were freed from all sorts of human activities and the buffer areas were meant to 'conservation oriented land use'. Based on the principles outlined, management plans were drawn up for each tiger reserve are :

  • Relegation of all forms of human tapping and biotic hindrance from the core area and systematization of activities in the buffer zone.
  • confining the habitat management only to fix the damages done to the eco-system by human and other hindrance, so as to facilitate retrieval of the eco-system to its natural state.
  • Monitoring the faunal and floral changes over time and carrying out research about wildlife.

Following is the list of tiger reserves and national parks in India.

  • Bandipur National Park (1973-74)
  • Jim Corbett National Park (1973-74)
  • Kanha National Park (1973-74)
  • Manas National Park (1973-74)
  • Melghat Wildlife Sanctuary (1973-74)
  • Palamau National Park (1973-74)
  • Ranthambore National Park (1973-74)
  • Simlipal National Park (1973-74)
  • Sunderbans National Park (1973-74)
  • Periyar National Park (1978-79)
  • Sariska National Park (1978-79)
  • Buxa National Park (1982-83)
  • Indravati National Park (1982-83)
  • Nagarjunsagar National Park (1982-83)
  • Namdapha National Park (1982-83)
  • Dudhwa National Park (1987-88)
  • Kalakad-Mundanthurai Tiger Reserve (1988-89)
  • Valmiki National Park (1989-90)
  • Pench National Park - Madhya Pradesh (1992-93)
  • Tadoba-Andhari Tiger Reserve (1993-94)
  • Bandhavgarh National Park (1993-94)
  • Panna National Park (1994-95)
  • Dampha Tiger Reserve (1994-95)
  • Bhadra National Park (1998-99)
  • Pench National Park - Maharashtra (1998-99)
  • Pakhui-Nameri Tiger Reserve (1999-2000)
  • Bori, Satpura & Pachmarhi Wildlife Sanctuaries (1999-2000)
  • Katerniaghat Wildlife Sanctuary Extension (1999-2000)
  • Nagarhole National Park Extension (1999-2000)

Our Other Websites: | | |


Copyright © 2016 All rights reserved | Designed by Teamfreelancers